Semi-random job-hunting thoughts

Sometimes, as you cruise through the job hunt, certain thoughts stick in your head.

Here are a few of them:

  • While I have been unemployed for roughly 11 weeks, I have been job-hunting for a while, and I find that some jobs pop up over and over again. The paper in Roswell, NM, cannot seem to hang onto a sports editor, and Nemer Ford here in Queensbury hews up and spits out customer service managers like so many pumpkin seeds. There are probably another half-dozen places that I consistently see posting the same job or very similar jobs. Berkshire Farms, a which runs youth detention houses and similar places, is always looking as are many of the ARCs and similar places like Saratoga Bridges.
  • I will pull back on what I said about Indeed.com. It seems as though the issue of having dozens and dozens of telecommuting jobs from the same job services, over and over, has been fixed. I still think it’s the best web search service to use. I also continue to promote Craigslist.
  • Maybe it’s me, but I just see it as a matter of course to send a cover letter with a resume. Some places ask specifically for one and say they will not review a resume without it. That seems to go without saying, as far as I am concerned, but I think some folks might feel the e-mail that the resume is attached to can be considered a cover letter. I don’t buy that, and I do not think employers do, either.
  • I dislike it a lot when places ask for salary requirements. I look at it as another way to screen you out. I have seen one place that will not consider a resume without such information. Honestly, I want to work for you only if you are a fair and reasonable employer, and if you are, I believe you will offer me a fair and reasonable salary. All of the interview training I have seen says to delay that discussion as long as you can and to make sure you have current salary information for that position.
6 Responses to Semi-random job-hunting thoughts

  1. Nefertiti says:

    I actually have to disagree regarding where the cover letter should go, when e-mailing a resume. The purpose of the cover letter is to explain why you are contacting them, and why they should read through your resume, and any other attached documents. As such, the body of the e-mail seems like it would be the appropriate place for this letter to go. This does mean that you need to format the body of the message to look like business correspondence, but that’s not that complicated.

    • Leah says:

      I think it depends on the situation. If I’m sending something to an HR department, then I’d probably submit an attached cover letter. But if I’m e-mailing my stuff to the hiring manager directly, I definitely go with the cover e-mail. For one, it means fewer attachments for them, so less time they have to spend digging through to figure out who I am and whether I’m qualified.

  2. -dsr- says:

    My company was looking for a part-time marketing person. Some copy writing, some contact management, some PR… a jack of all trades position in a small company. We got over 150 resumes.

    Only ten passed our initial weeding process, which consisted solely of looking at the cover letter and making sure that they wrote in coherent, grammatical English sentences.

    When I look for technical candidates, I look at cover letters and resumes for proof that they can spell and used a spell-checker. Every one in my office has a detail-oriented job function. If they can’t take the time to get their resume right, why would I think they will take the time to get anything else right?

  3. Jess says:

    Interesting on the last one; I never got specific training in whether or not to ask for this or that salary, but I always figured it would be kind lf gauche to bring up the subject on my own. If Employer to-be X wanted to mention it and say “well is 10$/hr ok with you?” then I was all right there.

  4. Kandy says:

    Over the years, my boss has been the “point partner” for several new-associate searches (lawyers). I was always surprised by the number of resumes that did not include a cover letter. None, at all — just the resume in the envelope.

    I agree that the “cover email” (if the resume is sent by email) should have the information you would have in a cover letter, but I would do it by writing my cover letter, copying my cover letter text to my email AND including a copy (Word or PDF) as an attachment. Of course, the last time I was actively looking resumes were still primarily mailed in.

Leave a Reply

