At the first turning point

A couple of opportunities have popped up over the last couple of days. I don’t want to be too specific, but I do want to share a little of what’s going on.

Friday, I got a call from an administrator at a non-profit  that helps people with mental disabilities in a variety of ways. It would be a fund-raising/gift officer position. Yes, my friends. You have seen me do that before. Like Saturday, for instance.

The cool part about this one was that she had read this blog and was intrigued by the job-skills entries you folks had written. “I had to talk to a guy whose friends felt like that about him.” So I have an interview tomorrow. This would be a good one, for my skills and for my soul.

The second is the solid possibility of being able to start with the Census for an eight-week office gig next week. That’s still coming together. A job would be good, and in some ways the timing and the chance to keep job-hunting would be a good thing. It would all depend on other potential job offers.

My friends continue to amaze me, by the way. I got an e-mail this morning from someone at a convention, where other folks said they were looking for writers to work on white papers and other projects. “I said I though I knew someone (wink),” she wrote. I am becoming more convinced that full-time job or not, I can finally start doing more professional writing.

One Response to At the first turning point

  1. Glad to hear things are turning around.
    Hoping the best for you.

Leave a Reply

