It’s all about making connections

Social networking is nothing new. It’s just got some spiffy new paint and pin-striping.

My life is a social network. I collect friends and contacts. I am one of those, “Hey, Bill, so you know this guy?” or “How do you know that makes good beer?” or anything else along those lines. Among my friends, we call it “The Liamverse.” It’s pretty well based around the Society For Creative Anachronism, a group that is based on Medieval re-creation. (That’s a whole series of topics for another blog).

I am finding that on-line social networking, which is what people mean when they use the phrase these days, is very similar to networking in person, but it comes with a shiny bonus. The connections multiply much faster.

Going into the job-search, I had been active on Live Journal (more than 600 friends) for many years and had also built up a solid number of friends on FaceBook (about 920 at this point). I had barely started using Twitter, and I now have two twitter accounts, one for personal use at “LiamStLiam” and the “BillToscano” account, which is for blogging and job-searching.

The new social networking foray is into LinkedIn. I never realized how powerful that site was, both for connecting with people and finding job leads. What I like is that I have a backbone in place after importing my Gmail and other contacts, and I have found that people are very willing to help. I have connected with Society For Creative Anachronism folks who do freelancing or have job leads. I tracked down the name of the direction of human resources at a local company I am trying to get into it. I think being able to address my letter directly to him will help.

I’ve also connected with a full-time freelancer who has given me excellent direction. That one came from a friend seeing one of my LJ postings and saying, “I have a friend who does this. Want an introduction.” And to be honest, there are several old-school, long-time friends who are helping as well.

The blogs, especially this one, are another part of my effort to reach out, connect and find work, whether it’s full-time or part-time. And, again, I am also teaching myself more about blogging. We’re off to slow start, but that’s OK. I appreciate everyone who comes, and especially those who are commenting. I think it will grow as we go on. Any publicity you might be able to do would be great.

It’s time to work on cover letters. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

