Finishing up Week 5

All of a sudden, unemployment has lasted for five weeks, and it’s certainly resulted in some changes in the job hunt.

There’s a little more urgency now (not that it wasn’t urgent to begin with), because the severance has played itself out. I will always appreciate the severance package I go, but now I am on my own.

The good news is that because of President Obama’s Stimulus Package from last year, I was able to qualify for a major discount on COBRA, so I will continue to have insurance. (That was really one of my major concerns). It comes out to one week of Unemployment Insurance pay per month. I am thankful for that.

Believe it or not, Craigslist has become my No. 1 source for job leads. The one interview I got came through Craigslist. I am still checking about a half-dozen sites a day, but I usually check Craigslist two or three times a day. I have sent four resumes out to Craigslist postings in the last two days.

2 Responses to Finishing up Week 5

  1. chrystie says:

    Yeah for COBRA, If you were still in Mass the Mass health direct pay was actually a better buy for me.

    I found craigslist to be the most helpful as well. But don’t forget to use LinkedIn! I didn’t check in on LinkedIn as much as I should have and I missed a couple of potential opportunities that I will always kick myself for…

  2. Bill Toscano says:

    I spent more than an hour today working on LinkedIn, and I started posting links to the blog there.

Leave a Reply

