Working on a “Sick Day”

Things get better and better here in the Irony Dept.

So I get laid off from the Unemployment Office on the day the president says jobs are the most important thing for the nation. If you have been reading here (and I greatly appreciate that), you knew that already.

Now it’s early Tuesday morning, almost two weeks later, and I am into the fourth day of a raging sinus headache and some nasty asthma-maybe-bronchitis. And I cannot call in sick to work! Nope, just have to deal and try to accomplish what I can.  far, the coffee is working a little, but not enough.

I know this seems kind of silly, pointing out that I would have been home yesterday and today even if I had not been laid off. But it’s one of those things you don’t think about when you’re working. I am picking up a lot of those lately. A friend is without a car because of a traffic stop, and I can ferry him around town if need be. Another friend may need some errands run for work. I can do that. Get the car inspected? Not a problem, if I get off my computer chair.

Underneath it all is the need to keep moving on funding a job. I am a little less than halfway through my severance period, and I have gotten in the habit of checking the two local papers, craigslist, indeed.com, and the state Department of Labor jobs before doing much of anything on the computer.

I did turn up a good one yesterday, a Journalism instructor position at a state university a couple hours north of here. It’s got fair pay, and it’s something I have always wanted to do. The job doesn’t start until the Fall, but I am going after it hard.

There was another good one this morning, working in the career office at the local community college. It was be a great job and allow me to use the recently developed skills from my last job, and it pays well. Trouble is, when this school had a public relations/marketing position open, it drew more than 150 applications. I’m still going after it.

I am hoping to make it a busy day on the job-application front. I think, maybe, the two cups of coffee have knocked down the headache. I’ll keep you posted.

2 Responses to Working on a “Sick Day”

  1. Summer says:

    Keep on keepin’ on, and best of luck to you!

  2. chrystie69 says:

    Don’t forget to work those LinkedIn connections every day! Have you looked to see if there are any job networks nearby? http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/JobClub/ I could so see you starting one of these if there isn’t one in the area.

Leave a Reply

