From query to interview: Under four hours

Gotta admit, I am a little stunned by this one.

Sent out almost a dozen job queries yesterday, and when I checked the work-search e-mail this morning, there was a request for an interview from the exectuive director of the agency I am applying to.

Time from my e-mail to the interview request? 3 hours, 45 minutes. I am amazed.

It’s in Albany, better than an hour away, but I am not ruling anything out right now. It’s teaching job-search skills and helping find jobs for parolees and recovering drug addicts. I developed a lot of the necessary skills over the last seven months doing unemployment stuff.

The executive director was a little concerned about the commute, but I assured her I was interested. It’s a good deal more than I was making, so that may make a difference, too.

Conveniently, it’s an 11 a.m. interview, and I am going to meet a friend for pancakes and German food for lunch at noon.

4 Responses to From query to interview: Under four hours

  1. Katie M. says:

    Good luck!! 🙂

  2. If they are that interested to get back to you so soon, it could be a very good prospect. It certainly sounds like a position that would fit with your skill set – that is, if the job description is complete and honest.

    Best of luck!

  3. -dsr- says:

    You think they’ll only interview you for an hour? The last candidate we had in here, we needed about 5 hours, maybe six over the course of two days.

  4. Bill Toscano says:

    Different industries, I think, Dan.

    I have done a number of interviews in the non-profit sector than have lasted an hour or less.

    That lunch time is not a hard “noon,” but rather an estimate.

    We’ll have to see.

Leave a Reply

